College Office

The Master: Professor David Held – david.held@durham.ac.uk

David Held is Master of University College, Durham and Professor of Politics and International Relations at Durham University. He holds a PhD in Political Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is Director of the Institute of Global Policy, Durham University and Visiting Professor at LUISS University in Rome. He is author of more than 60 written or edited books and of an extensive number of academic articles on democracy, democratsation, globalisation, global governance and global policy – over a 25-year period. David has wide ranging teaching experience at a diversity of university levels, including developing and implementing new degree programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels in both leading research-driven universities and at the Open University, UK.

Senior Tutor & Vice-Master: Dr Richard Lawrie – r.m.lawrie@durham.ac.uk

Richard is ultimately responsible for the Welfare support system and deals primarily with more serious issues; however, he is available for anyone who just needs a chat too! Like meeting the Welfare team, seeing imr is confidential unless he feels you are at serious risk. His office can be found in the College Office, and you can go and see him with a range of issues whether they are personal, financial or academic. He can advise you on a suitable course of action and liaise with departments.

The Chaplain: Hannah Cleugh – hannah.cleugh@durham.ac.uk

Hannah runs the college chapel and heads faith provision in the college. She is also available to provide pastoral support on a number of issues, for students of any faith or none. Her office can be found on the second floor of the Black Staircase.

Student Support Officer: Lynne Carrick – p.l.carrick@durham.ac.uk

Lynne is your first point of contact in College Office for all student-related issues. She can offer advice on the workings of University procedures and pin point the best people to contact about particular issues. She can also make appointments for students to see the Senior Tutor.

Bursar: Michelle Crawford – t.m.crawford@durham.ac.uk

Michelle manages the operational, financial and logistical side of the College. She has overall responsibility for cleaning, porters and other aspects of the maintenance of our site.

Accommodation: Wendy Chambers – w.r.chambers@durham.ac.uk

Wendy is in charge of the accommodation within the castle and is the one to go to if you want to book a room, be that the great hall for a play, or the Undie for yoga.

Operations Manager: Donna Pudwell – donna.pudwell@durham.ac.uk

Donna is responsible for the day to day running of operations across the College which includes Reception, Porters, Housekeeping, Bar and Catering. She reports directly to the Bursar.

Food and Beverages Manager: Jamie Short – jamie.short@durham.ac.uk

Jamie heads the servery and oversees the running of the Undercroft bar, working closely with the Undercroft Chairman and Vice Chairman.